Who’s There? Reveal Yourself!

It's a-me, Andrea!

It's a-me, Andrea!

I’ve been blogging over at Tumblr for almost a year now and I’m edging on bored level towards the whole site for various reasons. So I’m testing wordpress out, and hopefully it will push me to write more than 1-3 lines. It also gives me a chance to combine all of my interests, whereas on tumblr I kept most of them separate (recipes, cute photos/quotes, home ideas, etc.).

Status: So far I’m digging it.

Joe Cocker – Feelin’ Alright (mp3)

About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When I’m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous, Photo. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Who’s There? Reveal Yourself!

  1. Shalom says:

    Say it ain’t so! You’re one of my favorites, so I hope this move is either temporary or not a complete break from Tumblr. Honestly, I also love the WordPress setup and always wonder why I don’t use it more often. But, it would be a damn shame to lose you as a regular contributor on Tumblr (or TumBlahhh, as it seems to have become for you).

    • bunkercomplex says:

      I don’t think I could ever abandon it completely since I put 11 months into the thing… I might pop in now and then, do a little hit and run with some pictures, and then jump out.

      And consider yourself RSS’d, sir.

  2. Aaron J says:

    Miss you already over there! But you are RSS’d for sure. I’ll be sure to drop you some comments.

    • bunkercomplex says:

      Aww, thanks! The fluctuating followers # and a dashboard to keep up with were just too tiring. It’s quiet over here – no hearts, no reblogs. It’s nice.
      And you were also RSS’d, sir!

  3. Shalom says:

    Well, I look forward to your drive-by picture posting. Hopefully they add some spiffy new features and lure you back eventually. With that said, I understand how you’d be worn out with trying to keep up. I’m a much smaller fish on Tumblr than you are, and even with my ~100 follows, I’m exhausted trying to read my dashboard on a regular basis. Come to think of it, I should coin the phrase “Tumblr Fatigue” before someone else thinks to do the same, heh.

    And to think, I went to the LA Tumblr meetup this past weekend with a faint hope that you’d show up and I’d meet you there. Now, I see you’re leaving us (at least partially)! Sad face. I guess I’ll just have to fire up the ol’ WordPress account and visit your page here 🙂

    • bunkercomplex says:

      I don’t read any of the tumblrs of those who went to that party, save 2 or 3, and only a few of them followed mine. It would have been a case of “Uh, who the hell are you?” if I went and I’d end up slinking away into the night.

  4. Shalom says:

    Hah. The first meetup, I realized that I followed all of 0. And only 2 people recognized me. So, I definitely understand where you’re coming from. I would’ve recognized you though! Yikes..that sounds kinda weird. Does that make me a creepy stalker or something? Sounds bad enough that I “follow” you, hah.

    The people are a lot nicer than you’d think, though. At least that’s what I found out. You should stop by the next meet up. If nothing else, you can laugh at drunk people with me.

  5. Shalom says:

    I’m gonna hold you to that. You won’t be disappointed. I witnessed quite a bit of inebriation, and I’m sure there’s more to come.

  6. Tess Lynch says:

    I’ve been thinking of switching back to Blogspot or WordPress for a while. Now my dash is so much less cheerful without your posts, and maybe I’ll also make the switch eventually? It’s true that Tumblr, now with censorship!, is kind of a lot to handle; sometimes it’s like Facebook and sometimes it’s just a mercurial popularity meter I could do without. Plus, I love long-form for those who can hack it — it’s certainly nice to get more of your writing.

    And thanks for putting me on the blogroll! You’ll be topping mine when I make the switch.

    • bunkercomplex says:

      I really dug your blogspot page so I’d be happy with the switch. 🙂 Tumblr readers in general aren’t kind to people who like to write more than a few lines. And I like that WordPress forces me to write a little more than just spewing 10 random pictures and quotes without any kind of commentary.

      Also, doesn’t Tumblr feel like it’s been overrun by 13 year olds? I don’t read their blogs, yet their content/arguments/dumb questions (When’s your birthday? How old are you? Where do you live? What’s your sign? I don’t fucking care, and memo: AOL chat room-type questions were 10 years ago), and yet it all still manages to seep into my dashboard through others. Not like my pictures of cartoon character butt shots were classy, but still…

  7. Will H says:

    this is so sad.

    yes tumblr’s changed, and it has the ability to be an echo chamber at times, and while i’m glad you’re still posting, you’ll be missed on my dashboard.

    good luck on your new blog!

    W

    • bunkercomplex says:

      Aww, thank you! I’ll still be posting a few things on tumblr here and there, because where else will pictures of Arnold Schwarzenegger bug-eyed and screaming be appreciated?
      And I RSS’d you too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

