Overachievers

Bested every time. 

 

Bested every time.

 

My major is full of overachievers. Which is fine to a certain extent. You want SLP’s who know what the hell they’re doing and who have worked hard in school to get as much as they can from the seminars and clinics. BUT there is excessive achievement, like this one lady in my AAC class who, unlike the rest of us who only wrote summaries of our assigned books to pass out, wrote a freaking song and played it on her freaking guitar for her book review. And she also bakes sweets for our class every time, teaches some dance/exercise class a few days a week, and is married with teen kids at home. I’m happy that I even finish my papers and show up to class every week.

If you want an ego boost, don’t major in communicative disorders. 

(I also heard that the program received 300 applications for Fall admission, whereas the norm is 150. They’re only taking 18. I was on my knees thanking God I had gotten in before this influx.)

Pete Yorn – So Much Work (mp3)

Jimmy Eat World – Work (mp3)

About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When I’m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overachievers

  1. Kevin says:

    Excellent MP3 choices! How are things on this side of the blog world? As you can imagine, things are curazy on tumblr. People are leaving! I think it was the Oscar liveblogging.

Leave a Reply

