Weekend Sweets With Andrea!

Yay, baked goods! Here are my two creations made this afternoon with help from Coca.

#1 – Scotcheroos – Rice Krispie treats with peanut butter instead of marshmallow, topped with a mix of melted chocolate, butterscotch and peanut butter. It’s a fact that I will always forget an ingredient while at the store and only realize it once I need it for the recipe. Smooth peanut butter was the forgotten ingredient winner today, so I used chunky instead. My brother, Jon, and Coca were my guinea pig taste testers and they gave four gooey thumbs up.

BAM

#2 – Chocolate Brownies with Cream Cheese Icing and Walnuts – Randomly flipped to this one in my Magnolia Bakery Cookbook. Memo to authors: Who the hell has a 12×18-inch jelly roll pan as part of their kitchen arsenal? I had no plans to feed the whole neighborhood so I cut the recipe in half. Jon and Coca approved of the final product and took both treats to a friend’s birthday party since it would just be sitting around here.

BOOM

I also just found out that my aunt has this awesome food blog which has won some awards and stuff. Multi-colored pasta? Homemade Girl Scout Samoa cookies?! Seriously, my family failed in not alerting me sooner.

About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When Iā€™m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend Sweets With Andrea!

  1. pharmfresh says:

    I’m so glad you liked my scotcheroo recipe! I too usually forget something at the grocery store (today it was milk…who does that?!), but I think in your case it was a good thing! I will definitely be trying them with crunchy peanut butter next time! šŸ™‚

  2. Shalom says:

    Your posts from the past couple of days have had me on the verge of eating my computer screen.

    Also, you make delicious snacks, appreciate sports, enjoy comic books and have a killer sense of humor….so let me ask you: were you created in some secret laboratory where scientists were developing the perfect woman? I realize I risk creeping you out by saying that, but the question has been lingering in my mind and I just had to ask.

    Anyway, hope you’ve had a good weekend!

    • bunkercomplex says:

      I have flaws too! – I can’t dance, I’m cripplingly shy, I love movies like Ernest Goes To Jail, George of The Jungle, and Good Burger, and I quietly judge any and all who act a fool in public. Factory recall.

      Hope you’re feeling better! I’m drinking a plastic red cup full of orange juice in your honor.

  3. Shalom says:

    Flaws? Bah! I must protest.

    (1) The only dance that one needs to know is the slow dance, and I’m sure you’ve got that down like a pro. After all, it’s basically walking around in circles while swaying side to side and pressed against another person. (2) Shy is far FAR better than the usual mix of loud, obnoxious and histrionic. (3) You’re talking to someone who has watched Bloodsport no less than a hundred times. And what’s wrong with a little Ernest? Nothing, that’s what. (4) Life is nothing without the joys of poking fun at the people who seem to be on the planet for the sole purpose of being mocked. Finding others that share that quiet habit and turning it into whispered exchanges of, “Look at that guy over there. Has he passed a single reflective surface since he left his house? Seriously, what a tool. Wait…is he actually blind? Ohmygoodness, I’m so sorry,” is one of my favorite things in the world.

    So, madam, If you don’t mind, I must disagree with your assessment. From the look of it, you’re a prototype šŸ˜‰

    And, thanks! I’m slowly improving. Seems like a lot of people are catching this post-flu, flu bug. Hope you keep a clean bill of health!

Leave a Reply

