“The trouble with jogging is that the ice falls out of your glass.”

fatboy-stretch

I’ve recently taken up jogging/running to fulfill my cardio needs. There were a few reasons, but it’s mainly because I’ve given up on stationary cycling. It’s the devil’s workout of choice, and I try to avoid whatever he’s hawking as a general rule.

fatboy

That's me on the right.

I typically have a playlist for everything, and I mean everything: sleep, waking up, getting ready, driving, driving during the sunset, driving at night, karaoke gold, single tear, school motivation, a celebration mix for when I finish school next year, and I’ll stop there because you are now witness to my playlist-making manic state. But I never set aside music that would work for running. I was always of the mindset that unless there was a basketball in my hands to dribble or Cynthia Weinstein was chasing me, there was no point to the activity.  So now that I kinda enjoy it, my need to set music to every facet of my life has forced me to create a solid list that will make me victoriously fist pump while I run. So far I have… Chaka Khan’s “I Feel For You” and Rod Stewart’s “Lost In You“. Yeah, I think I need help with this one.

About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When I’m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “The trouble with jogging is that the ice falls out of your glass.”

  1. Pingback: “The trouble with jogging is that the ice falls out of your glass.”

  2. Mills says:

    I’ve been a cyclist for many years, but I got tired of the weather/light dependency and all the maintenance for an 8k mile/year habit, so I just started running too.

    It’s totally awesome, although always embarrassing to start a new athletic activity. But the music is the best part; when I get the runner’s high and there’s a great song on (and I bring my dogs with me) it’s an awesome feeling.

    Worth the new back pain, shin issues, and so on, I guess.

    • bunkercomplex says:

      Yeah, I’m keeping my bike riding to leisure beach mode.
      Bluh, I had shin splints too, but it’s mostly likely from wearing shoes I’ve had since 2002. And they were for volleyball, not running. My brother shredded his knees while running, which scared me a bit. So I’ve been doing weight lifting classes to help protect all of those fun miscellaneous areas.

  3. Shalom says:

    No running mix is complete without “Eye of the Tiger”. In fact, you’d probably be set if you just loaded the entire Rocky soundtrack into your iPod. It’ll get you pumped up for running, even if you’re going up a long flight of stairs.

    Warning: May cause involuntary shadow boxing.

Leave a Reply

