No More

FFFFFF-

Word on the street is my dad is currently pulling double duty with the matchmaking while in Romania. I was planning on going again in May but I’m not so into getting ambushed while over there. My last summer vacation before entering the working world will be enjoyed with my first love, California. My parents are great people, but this mania to marry me off has them putting serious blinders on. First guy they proposed to me was a dentist, which is fine. A little dull, but respectable, I guess. Except my sister-in-law knew him and his family and he’s actually kind of a sexist turd. I rarely use that word, but it’s warranted here. He believes – women shouldn’t wear makeup (strike 1), should wear mainly long skirts and the like to cover up those sexy ankles (steerike 2), and shouldn’t be working if married (you’re out). The last one isn’t completely bad – I’m going to be a stay-at-home mom, but I also want to work before I have kids, when the kids are in high school, and when they’re up and out of the house. Sorry, buddy. I like the field too much to abandon just because you’re hardcore orthodox/stuck in the 1800s or whatever.

So I have less than high hopes for what they think would be good for me. Plus I refuse to move there, which means he’d move here (green card motivation alert) and I’d probably end up supporting him in the relationship for awhile. My cousin and some friends of my sister-in-law are currently in this scenario and I’ll pass on it, thanks.

My mantra: ” I’m 23, leave me be!”

About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When I’m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No More

  1. Kevin says:

    You have to admit, your ankles are pretty sexy. You made the right decision.

  2. Ligia says:

    Hang in there, for my sake, because once you’re married, they’re coming after me…

  3. Nicole says:

    And, in a few months: “I’m 24, FOBs out the door!”

  4. Tess Lynch says:

    You’d at least want to be allowed to be the Big Love equivalent of Margie, versus Nicki. I’m referring mostly to the ankles here.

Leave a Reply

