Dirty French

I went to Yann Tiersen’s LA show Saturday night. It seemed like a cool idea – being inundated with accordions and violins by a French man is, in theory, something pretty enjoyable. After suffering through the Bjork-lite opening act (who ended their last song with about 2 solid minutes of noise. I plugged my ears like a cranky adult while most everyone else looked slightly pissed), I was ready for some Yann action.

I’m willing to bet big money that about 70% of the audience thought it was going to be mainly his film score catalogue that was being played. People were dressed up, the dumb tickets had seat numbers on them (surprise: the theatre removed the seats and it was just a big fun smelly standing party), and it’s freaking Yann Tiersen on the bill. What else could he possibly be playing? Well, instrumental rock for one. And not amazing instrumental rock. After the first 2-3 songs I was thinking, “Okay, you’ve indulged, now get back to the good stuff. I want to sway with abandon to some harpsichord.” Yeah, not so much. There was a glimmer of hope when he pulled out his violin, but it was only used to duel off with the bassist.  The last song was a rock rendition of a track from Amelie, and everyone picked up on it halfway through; coming alive in the process and getting all jazzed. Then the lights came on and it was time to go home. When the highlight of the night is making jokes along the lines of “I just yawned at Yann”, you know it’s rough. Boo.

Still love (most of) his music though.


Yann Tiersen – Comptine D’ete N°2 (mp3)

About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When I’m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

