Xerostomia

More You KNOOOW

Found this term while reading through some journal articles for a paper, and I’m all about sharing the knowledge.

Xerostomia is the medical term for the subjective complaint of dry mouth due to a lack of saliva. Xerostomia is sometimes colloquially called pasties, cottonmouth, or doughmouth. Xerostomia is also common in smokers.

Xerostomia can cause difficulty in speech and eating. It also leads to halitosis and a dramatic rise in the number of cavities, as the protective effect of saliva’s remineralizing the enamel is no longer present, and can make the mucosa of the mouth more vulnerable to infection.

Other causes of insufficient saliva include anxiety, medications, or the consumption of alcoholic beverages, physical trauma to the salivary glands or their ducts or nerves, dehydration caused by lack of sufficient fluids, excessive breathing through the mouth, previous radiation therapy, and also a natural result of aging

(via Wikipedia)

About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When I’m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Xerostomia

  1. Mills says:

    (1) What’s the ‘WordPress Snapshot (TM, R, no doubt)’ that keeps popping up? I am old, and easily overwhelmed! Allow me a few moments to calm myself to a more optimal, ordinary level of whelm.

    (2) (Note that my spellcheck evidently thinks nothing is amiss with the word ‘whelm,’ indicating that perhaps my bad joke is a legitimate assertion: more research needed). I am glad to know this. I especially like that it is necessarily subjective: we cannot place some probe or paper into the mouth and wait responses or color-change; all we have is: “My mouth is dry.”

    I like that it caused by nearly everything, too: mouth salivation is the first thing to go when anything is aberrant, from nerves at meeting someone’s parents to a toxic poisoning.

    Word up!

Leave a Reply

