Book #24

Guh

You know the current confusion + anger that people have towards Twilight fans and the book series? I think I now feel something mildly similar towards anybody who praises, posts inane quotes, and/or counts The Perks of Being a Wallflower as their favorite book. It’s about 8 different shades of bad. If the main character Charlie is considered a typical teen other young people can relate to, then I’m taking crazy pills because he writes and thinks like a mentally and emotionally stunted 4th grader.

I offer evidence in the form of random quotes pulled from the book. Trust me, context really isn’t needed to make it better.

“It’s strange because sometimes, I read a book, and I think I am the people in the book.”

&

“On Friday night, I was reading my new book, but my brain got tired, so I decided to watch some television instead.”

 

I mean, seriously? That has 900+ five star reviews on Amazon? Sorry, but you’ve just been paperback-swapped, Perks.

***** 

A good song to balance out the awful.
The Kinks – The Way Love Used To Be  (mp3

About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When I’m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book #24

  1. Nicole B says:

    This novel was published by MTV. MTV! Enough said.

    • bunkercomplex says:

      While this is true, I can’t help but give it a shot because they also produce shows like True Life.

Leave a Reply

