Sugah Cookies

Pamela Michelle Johnson / Paintings / Series I : American Still Life.

I love these! A few of my favorite childhood snacks in large oil painting form.

Re: the Hostess cherry pies – While growing up it was a highlight of the week to get to go to the supermarket with my mom because I could then ask for one of those delicious sugar bombs, with hopefully a side order of a pack of either the mini chocolate donuts or the powdered sugar donuts you could shove down in one mouthful. And a bottle of that white grape or other fruity clear color soda. Glory days.

All she needs to paint now are Little Debbie products like Oatmeal Creme Pies + Nutty Bars + Swiss Cake Rolls + Fudge Brownies. Oh, and some Hot Tamales boxes, and Red Vines in the large tub from Costco. And maybe those Lunchables pizza kits too… ugh, god, how was I not a roly-poly blimp of a kid waddling around?

sugar cookies

sugar cookies

hostess cupcakes

hostess cupcakes

poptarts

poptarts

circus animals

circus animals

handi snacks

handi snacks

hostess pie

hostess pie

About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When I’m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Food, miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sugah Cookies

  1. Shalom says:

    Those are incredible. Though, if I ever saw these in a gallery, I’d be hard pressed not to eat the canvas that they’re painted on. Coincidentally, I just picked up a pack of Soft Batch cookies from the store yesterday. I don’t care that they’re terrible for me or that they’re loaded with strange chemicals that I can’t pronounce. When I microwave them and the cookie gets chewy and the chocolate chips become little patches of molten lava, I instantly become a happy kindergartener.

    All these pictures and mentions of childhood snacks reminds me of how desperately I wanted to find the tree that the Keebler elves lived/worked out of. To this day, if I’m ever by trees and I smell even a faint hint of baked goods, I have to investigate for at least a few minutes.

    • bunkercomplex says:

      In no way do those cookies resemble real homemade chewy cookies, but they’re seriously amazing anyway. That and the Keebler fudge striped cookies were also staples in my home. If I still had any semblance of my childhood metabolism I’d probably just live off of a satisfying mixture of all of these treats. Ah well. At least I have my memories…

Leave a Reply

