School Class List + Grades

I registered for my Fall classes yesterday and it ws a nice way to suckerpunch me back to reality that vacation is almost over. Shoot meThe rundown ::

  1. Audiology Practicum – Clinic where I sit and watch the professor see clients in the school’s audiology suite and then I  bring in my own to practice for 4 hours every Thursday morning. I’ve done hearing screenings on clients, which is about as much as I want to know on the subject. The undergrad audiology and speech + hearing science classes made my head bleed a little and that’s because audiograms and frequency wave charts are directly penned by the devil.
  2. Aural Rehab – Another clinic where I find an offsite place to observe a clinician doing the rehab side of hearing disorders. Whoo.
  3. Advanced Clinic – The dreaded one where I’m working 4-5 days a week in either a hospital, nursing home, or sub acute setting. S.O.S. messages will periodically appear from August to December. It’s probably a good thing I don’t twitter because it would be full of “no no no no no no no no, a guy sneezed on me and I think I’m developing a rapid onset of pinkeye” tweets.
  4. Child Language Disorders Seminar – This and phonological/articulation disorders are mostly what I’ll be working on with kids when I go into the schools. My kid clients last Fall all had language delays so I’ll actually have some experience diagnosing and doing therapy for language. Cheers to the lectures not just being theoretical and my eyes not glazing over in class.

While I was logged in to my school account I thought I should probably check out my grades from Spring. As long as I’m getting B’s in every class I pass the program so ‘meh’ to anxiously checking a week after Finals anymore. I was expecting A’s in 3 of the classes and a big fat hairy B in dysphagia because it was a rough class and the average number of people who get an A in that class has been literally 1 or 2 people every semester.  Well… take a look at this little beauty (HCOM 543) – WowWowWowWow

First reaction was skeptical laughter. Then a scrunched face of confusion as I stared at the screen. Umm, sure, Dr. K. I’ll go along with that… (And the +/- scale is the stupidest thing ever. A- and I used to be close buddies for letting me slide into that 4.0 point. Now it shanks me in the side and calls me out for being no better than a lousy B+.)

About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When I’m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

