Sunday Tidbits – Last Day of Vacation

scribble

  • I bought 2 fun $7 keroppi t-shirts from the kids section (1. yay for the prevalence of size XL in children’s section! 2. I need self-entertaining non-baggy shirts for pilates, so whatever.) and when the shirts were being rung up with a few books, the lady automatically asked me if I wanted to have a gift receipt for just the shirts. I gave the side glance shifty-eye and said yes. One day. One day I will say no to the gift receipt for questionable items and stare the cashier in the eye while doing so.
  • Leigh Peele – I love this woman’s website, her podcast Ask Leigh, and her co-hosting of another podcast The Fitcast. It’s kind of my antidote to the obnoxious entity that is Jillian Michaels.
  • Managing this site has become the biggest time-suck. It’s also a giant spirit-killer to read some of the things people send in for me to publish (someone sent something in just because when they all had lunch together the offending couple didn’t offer to pay their own side). But I’ve gotten interviews and references to the site in various articles out of it, so two hesitant thumbs up?
  • This email signature has been popping up lately. I wasn’t aware there was an epidemic of email print-outs wreaking havoc.wha?
  • I’m guilty of partly deciding what book to read/not read based on 3 fairly vain criterion – (shockingly this doesn’t weed out the junk I occasionally end up reading)
    • 1. Does the author’s picture frighten me? T.C. Boyle, let’s have a chat, yeah?
    • 2. Is the cover aesthetically pleasing? If you can’t cobble together something relatively nice to look at in this era then I’m taking my $8 elsewhere.
    • 3. Is the story about a wife who’s husband has cheated on her and she’s out in the world coping? Enough with that mess. Reading that sentence on the back cover makes me want to shotput the book across the room.
  • I used to be uncomfortable with not finishing a book. There was some weird dedication that I felt the author was owed and it gave me an uneasy feeling to not finish a book I started reading. Until I read some of Running With Scissors by Augusten Burroughs and Rant by Chuck Palahniuk. Now I have a chip on my shoulder toward authors – Don’t have me hooked by page 50-100? Beat it, and take your turd with you.
  • Vacation is over. It’s only at 2AM when I feel okay about this, and a tiny bit empowered about how good this semester will be. No, alcohol is not involved. Unless you count rum-flavored sweets.
  • This Band of Horses’ cover of George Harrison’s “Your Love is Forever” (mp3) is excellent.
  • Her mother wasn’t worth a pinch of coon crap.” – Bob Greene (Phil Hendrie Show) I will incorporate this phrase into my daily conversation, if it’s the last thing I do. Not sure why I want to sound hillbilly, but…
About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When I’m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in GIF, miscellaneous, Music, quote. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Tidbits – Last Day of Vacation

  1. Mills says:

    That signature is the worst! It’s really a kind of declaration of enlightenment: “I consider the environment; I’m not some boorish imbecile printing out everything, and neither should you be,” but it makes little actual environmental sense and as you say: are that many people printing email?

    I hate it!

    (And there’s nothing wrong with not finishing a book; too many books will delight you for you to spend time with ones that don’t, or only might).

Leave a Reply

