Lorrie Moore (Books #55-57)

casual reading

I’m generally late to the good authors/books party, and Lorrie Moore is one I’ve recently discovered. I grabbed three of her books from the school library and read them all in a little over a week. She can write an insanely good short story. I got more out of a 5 pager than a certain 600 page novel I finished last month *cough*.

Anyway, 2 of many favorite quotes –

“She was not good on the phone. She needed the face, the pattern of eyes, nose, trembling mouth… People talking were meant to look at a face, the disastrous cupcake of it, the hide-and-seek of the heart dashing across. With a phone, you said words, but you never watched them go in. You saw them off at the airport but never knew whether there was anyone there to greet them when they got off the plane. ”
— Lorrie Moore (Like LifeThis is me, basically.

“This lunge at moral fastidiousness was something she’d noticed a lot in people around here. They were not good people. They were not kind. But they recycled their newspapers!”
— Lorrie Moore (Birds of America: Stories) This is most people where I live, basically.

About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When I’m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Book, quote. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

