Open House For Butterflies

i still think this way..

Now that I’m a few months away from starting my SLP career (!!), I’m acutely aware that my own personal collection of materials is pretty dismal. I’ve caught up on crafts and treasure chest trinkets, but books and toys are still a large hole that needs to be filled. Most others would have those books stored away, ready to be rummaged through if/when those grandkids or whoever would need them again. My mom is more of the no-clutter and removal of needless items persuasion, as she quickly gave them away to my cousins once my siblings and I hit junior high. All I can say is thank God for ebay and the folks who sell 70+ book lots for trivial amounts ($30, boom. And it’s a damn good box of books too). I’d be weeping as I drove from one garage sale/public library book sale to the next, trying to recover some semblance of a decent collection.

I spent a few hours this morning sorting through the books to categorize them into therapy usefulness – pragmatics, plural nouns, concrete vs. abstract language, following directions, if certain phonemes are frequently stressed, reading level, etc. Open House for Butterflies by Ruth Krauss was in the pile and it was the first time I’d read or even heard of it. There’s no plot, just the precocious thought process of children, with Maurice Sendak’s black and white illustrations thrown in to round out the charm. And it was printed in 1960. 1960. 50 years ago. I very much dig the fact that the content is not at all dated. bee are bee, buying the other 2 companion books.

Some more favorite bits:

About bunkercomplex

My name is Andrea, and I'm a 23 year old Southern California girl and a newly minted Speech-Language Pathologist. When I’m not high-fiving 8-year-olds for finally producing a good /r/ sound, I fill my time with Peter Gabriel, Ayn Rand, Phil Hendrie, bicycles, Korean stationery, movie marathon nights, and baking. You can email me at bunkercomplex@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Book. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

